April 4

Psalm 3:3-4

Job 38:4-13

John 1:3-5

sept 2015 562

Saint Patrick’s Breastplate

 

I bind unto myself today

the virtues of the star lit heaven

the glorious sun’s life-giving ray,

the whiteness of the moon at even,

the flashing of the lightening free,

the whirling wind’s tempestuous shocks,

the stable earth, the deep salt sea,

around the eternal rocks.

 

I bind unto myself today

the power of God to hold and lead,

His eye to watch, His might to stay,

His ear to hearken to my need,

The wisdom of my God to teach,

His hand to guide, His shield to ward;

the Word of God to give me speech,

His heavenly host to be my guard.

 

Lectio Divina

1. Read – Read the text (usually short, 2-4 verses, but could be longer). Read it slowly, looking for a word or phrase that stands out to you.

2. Reflect – Read a second time, meditating on the word or phrase and what it is saying to you. This is not a time to “study” the text, or look for meaning outside of what it means for you at that moment. How is God nudging you? Who are you in the text? How have you been moved or convicted by it?

3. Respond – Once you have ruminated and processed whatever meaning it had for you, respond in prayer. It may be thanksgiving, or in confession, or petition etc.

4. Rest – Sit in silence with God. Let go. Empty yourself of all your busy thoughts and allow God to love you just as you are in that moment.

 

Leave a comment